IIHS evaluates crash-avoidance tech for 19 new models

IIHS evaluates crash-avoidance tech for 19 new models

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has evaluated crash-avoidance technology for 19 new models from various automakers.

Vehicles receive a rank of basic, advanced or superior, depending on the effectiveness of automatic braking in tests at 12 and 25 mph. Minimal speed reduction receives a lower score, while full stop or an impact at less than two to three mph earns top scores. A warning tone earns an extra point, though it is not necessary to qualify for a superior rating.

More than a dozen new models earned the highest rating in the latest round of tests. ‘Superior’ winners include the 2016 Acura MDX, RLX, ILX and RDX; 2015-2016 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, E-Class and CLA; 2016 Mazda CX-5 and Mazda6; BMW X3; Chrysler 300 and Dodge Charger.

“Most motorists won’t be riding in driverless cars anytime soon,” said IIHS research chief David Zuby. “In the shorter term, automatic braking is an accessible technology that’s within reach for many drivers. We’ve seen an uptick in the number of luxury and mainstream models with available autobrake.”

The institute has praised Mercedes-Benz as the first automaker to offer a standard front-crash protection system that earns a superior rating. Most collision-avoidance systems are only available as part of an optional package. Some companies, such as Toyota, have promised to offer the technology as an affordable independent option, rather than requiring buyers to purchase a top trim level.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.