Automakers list 12M vehicles with defective Takata airbags

Automakers list 12M vehicles with defective Takata airbags

Automakers have continued to disclose specific vehicles affected by the latest Takata recall expansion, with 12 million new vehicles added to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration database.

All of the vehicles listed below integrate one or more airbags with ammonium nitrate propellant. The NHTSA has deemed the chemical unsafe if not combined with a desiccant drying agent, particularly in regions of high absolute humidity. The latest defect declaration is expected to affect around 40 million vehicles.


2004-2008 Ram 1500; 2005-2009 Ram 2500; 2006-2009 Ram 3500; 2007-2010 Ram 3500 Chassis Cab; 2008-2010 Ram 4500 and 5500 Chassis Cab; 2008-2009 Sterling 4500/5500 Chassis Cab; 2004-2009 Dodge Durango; 2007-2009 Chrysler Aspen; 2007-2012 Jeep Wrangler; 2008-2012 Dodge Challenger; 2005-2008 Dodge Magnum; 2005-2012 Chrysler 300; 2006-2012 Dodge Charger; 2005-2011 Dodge Dakota; 2006-2009 Mitsubishi Raider.


2009-2011 California; 2010-2011 458 Italia.


2006-2010 Gold Wing GL1800; 2009-2011 Acura TSX; 2011 TSX Wagon; 2010-2011 Acura ZDX; 2008-2011 Honda Accord; 2010-2011 Accord Crosstour; 2006-2011 Civic, Civic Hybrid and Civic GX; 2007-2011 CR-V; 2010-2011 FCX Clarity and Insight; 2009-2011 Fit and Pilot; 2003-2006 Acura MDX; 2005-2011 Acura RL; 2005-2006 Honda CR-V; 2003-2011 Element; 2007-2008 Fit; 2003-2008 Pilot; 2002-2004 Odyssey; 2006-2011 Ridgeline.


2003-2011 Mazda6; 2007-2011 CX-7 and CX-9; 2004-2011 RX-8; 2004-2006 MPV; 2006-2007 MazdaSpeed6.


2006-2007 Lancer, Lancer Evolution


2005-2008 Infiniti FX35 and FX45; 2003-2004 Infiniti I30 and I35; 2006-2010 Infiniti M35 and M45; 2007-2011 Nissan Versa.


2003-2004 Legacy and Outback; 2003-2006 Baja; 2006-2011 Impreza and Tribeca; 2006 Saab 9-2x; 2009-2011 Legacy, Outback and Forester.


2008-2011 Scion xB, Lexus IS F; 2009-2011 Toyota Corolla, Corolla Matrix; 2006-2011 Yaris, Lexus IS250 and IS350; 2010-2011 Toyota 4Runner, Lexus IS250C, IS350C and GX460; 2011 Toyota Sienna; 2007-2011 Lexus ES350; 2009-2010 Pontiac Vibe.

Note: The above list reflects the NHTSA’s website update on Friday. Many repairs are initially being handled on a regional basis, giving top priority to vehicles sold or registered in states or territories with high humidity. Some entries have been separately announced in official statements from various automakers, and the list may grow as more defective components are traced to individual VINs.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.